Be nice, Venice!

Sitting for more than three hours and a half meant nothing if you see views like this along the way.

My excitement pumped up the moment I heard the announcement.

Stazione di Venezia Santa Lucia

Before arriving in Europe, I already checked Google Maps on how to get to my hostels from the train stations. In Venice, Google Maps suggested taking the usual route by foot which includes narrow inner alleyways. I have read that in Europe scams and pickpockets are widely spread (this is not to scare you, I’m saying this so you can be prepared). I studied the streets heading to the hostel and decided that I will take the path that will lead to the Grand Canal. In that way, people can see me if something goes wrong. What a witty kitty, harhar!

I got off the train and took a deep breath before heading out of the station.

My ride

I got myself familiar on the streets including the turns I need to take even though it’s my first time to set foot on this ground. My luggage was a dead giveaway to crooks as if it’s shouting – TOURIST ALERT! As always, I was cautious and observant of my surroundings while walking.

I was far behind three elderlies who are, no doubt, tourists, thanks to their summer hats. A guy was standing, facing us and talking on his phone. The elders turned right, the street that Google Maps suggested I should take. The guy followed the elders, and I knew right away that it’s no good. He saw me looking, so I turned left towards Grand Canal.

Still, on his phone, he turned around and continued to follow me. My heartbeat started to rush, but I stayed calm so I can focus on what I’ll do if he grabs me. Seeing the Grand Canal from afar was not of great help especially if there’s a combination of narrow street, no other people around, and someone following you. I increased my walking pace and kept praying for safety until I reached the Grand Canal and turned right, he’s still on my tail. I started to think, where have all the people gone?

My hostel, L’Imbarcadero, is near Riva de Biasio ferry terminal. Suddenly, a vaporetto (public water bus) stopped, and tourists got off. I got the courage to turn my back and look into the eyes of the guy following me as if saying, “Screw you!” He then turned around and walked away. My heart was still beating fast, and my mind was hesitating to turn right towards my hostel because it was another narrow street I need to take. The tourists who got off the vaporetto were now gone.

My hostel doesn’t have signage outside, so it’s hard to know which door I need to knock. But since Google Maps says I’ve arrived, I went inside the door closest to me. It’s on the 2nd floor of what seemed to be a house turned into a hostel. It’s my first time to stay in a dorm-type hostel, sharing a room with three other female travelers. I was the first one to arrive.

The only reason I added Venice in my itinerary was to see the islands of Burano and Murano. So I booked a tour with Viator right away, and after 15 minutes, I received the confirmation. I had to be at Alilaguna pier in San Marco at 3 pm.

I checked Google Maps to find out the best and fastest option; it was already 2:15 pm. If I walk, it’d be about 20 minutes. If I take a vaporetto, it’d be 20 minutes too, but the nearest ticket point was in Ferrovia (by the railway station), meaning I had to walk back there and take the ferry. I decided to walk and followed Google Maps’ direction. With what happened earlier, I became paranoid walking through the narrow alleys, so I put on my headset and put my phone at the lowest part of my bag.

After multiple turns, more narrow alleys, and numbers of bridges, I thought of having a quick stop to buy a slice of pizza for lunch. I couldn’t afford to waste any minute. So imagine a lady wearing a chiffon halter top and a floral skirt, eating a folded pizza while walking. Uhm, not so lady-like but who cares? Haha.

I reached the place Google Maps had shown me. I got confused because I ended up in a square with no ferry around. It’s 5 minutes away to 3 pm. With no option left and limited time, I called Viator and told me that I was in the wrong place. Face-palm moment!

Google Maps failed me big time. Where’s the ferry to Murano and Burano?

When I found the Ferry Terminal, it was already past 3 pm, and the ferry had already left. Good thing, I was able to refund my payment. I thought of taking the public water bus to Murano and Burano from San Marco Giardinetti, but maybe it wasn’t really for me. The last trip from this terminal was 3 pm. So if you want to check out the timetable, visit the website of Alilaguna.

It’s still early for me to go back, so I thought why not explore the city. I walked towards St. Mark’s Basilica. Combine summer, a flock of tourists and free entrance, you’d get a long queue. Not to waste time, I headed to St. Mark’s Campanile (Bell Tower). You had to pay EUR 8 to get in.

Though there’s also a line, it’s not as long as the one outside the Basilica. Good thing, there’s an elevator but can only accommodate a few, which also causes the buildup.

Once you reach the top, you’d get a spectacular bird’s eye view of the city and the lagoon. The wind brushing my face and hair took away all the frustrations of missing the tour I booked. This tower has been around for a long time. The opening hours vary on the season.

Venice from the top

By the time I finished, they already stopped accepting people to get in the Basilica.

I checked out Doge’s Palace next to it, which houses grandiose ceiling, paintings and everything in it. The entrance fee was EUR 20, and they still let me in. I enjoyed walking around the compound because there’s so much to see and not a lot of tourists.

The most exciting part of this trip to Venice was taking the Vaporetto back to the hostel. As much as I wanted to experience riding a Gondola, which comes with a crazy price, so the closest thing was taking a public water bus.

What a lovely experience

When I got back to the hostel, a Japanese lady from the UK was already occupying the bed across mine. She’s Tomoko. We shared stories about our experiences while traveling. I asked her if she’d like to go out, she hesitated since she was just scammed somewhere else. Scammers everywhere can detect the oblivious tourists so we should always be on the look out. Much better to blend in. We can still enjoy traveling without our guards down.

It was a short trip but surely something I won’t forget.

The following morning, I walked to the railway station to go to my next destination.

Leave a comment