Roaming in Rome

I had a red-eye flight from Abu Dhabi and landed in Rome Fiumicino Airport at 7:05 in the morning, via Alitalia.

I was in touch with my high school classmate, Carlo, even before I arrive and he gave me instructions on how I can get to the city. Don’t you love getting an insider information about a place you’ll be visiting? 

Read related article: Schengen Visa FAQs for Filipinos in the UAE

I initially booked in the cheapest hostel, but he encouraged me to stay near Roma Termini, the central train station, so I can roam around quickly and the fact that I’ll be taking the train to my next destination.

I took the Leonardo Express Airport train to reach Roma Termini. It’s the most convenient and fastest way. The train station is linked to the Airport with 5-10 minutes walk and travel time is 30 minutes. Though the ticket is for EUR 14 compared with the other options like regular train and bus which ranges EUR 5 – EUR 8 but takes longer.

On-board Leonardo Express Train on my way to Roma Termini

I booked a Single Room in Hotel Washington – Resi for 2 nights, EUR 98 (around AED 412, inclusive of VAT). They gave me a Twin Room. It’s walking distance from the Train Station, Metro, and other sights. Since I had limited time, I planned to leave my things in the hotel and explore. I never expected jet lag would hit me because the moment I got in my room, my energy vanished, dozed off, and woke up 4 hours later. Very wrong haha!

I headed out and walked 2 blocks south to Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore. It was summertime, it’s scorching ’cause it’s noon, and I was hungry – the best combination ever.

When I got inside, the guided tour had started already. I didn’t want to wait for the next batch but more than that, I didn’t want to pay hehe. I went in, and I was stunned the moment I raised my eyes. The church’s ceiling is grandiose with intricate design.

When I was already satisfied with what I’ve seen, I headed out and walked back towards Roma Termini. I turned left and decided to check out Palazzo Massimo, one of the National Roman Museums along with Terme Di Diocleziano, Palazzo Altemps, and Crypta Balbi. You can purchase 1 ticket to access these museums for 3 consecutive days. I only bought 1 museum pass for EUR 7, I think the price now has increased.

Carlo met me outside the museum and showed me Piazza de Repubblica before catching the Metro to Vatican City.

While we’re inside the Metro, he warned me to be mindful of my things and surroundings because there were pickpockets around. One thing that travel has taught me is to become vigilant at all times, not being judgmental but it’s better to be safe than sorry.

We reached the Vatican City, and since it’s already afternoon, the queue to get inside Basilica di San Pietro/St. Peter’s Basilica was really long. So Carlo advised that I should get up early the following day and head straight to stand in the line. I just took a few shots, in case, I missed waking up early the next day.

Before going to the next location, we stopped at Alice Pizza, in Via delle Grazie, and grabbed something to eat. I only had limited time to explore, so I needed to multitask lol.

Next, we went to the Musei Vaticani/Vatican Museum. My love for ceiling ignited which would be satisfied in that entire week. Never have I ever thought that I would be seeing the Sistine Chapel with my own eyes.

After this, we head out to see Piazza di Spagna where the Spanish Steps is. Carlo needed to go to work, so I went on by myself. I sat by the Fontana della Barcaccia and finish the pizza I bought earlier. I enjoyed having a bite while watching the people either drinking from the fountain or taking a picture.

Suddenly, the police shouted in my direction.

I brushed it off because he approached a man eating the ice cream. Then, he came to me speaking in Italian and realized I look clueless, so he said, you’re not allowed to eat here. Good thing, I already had enough time to rest.

I walked along Via dei Condotti. If you love high-end brands, you have to walk on this street.

I continued walking without any direction in mind until I reached Basilica dei Santi Ambrogio e Carlo al Corso. I just wanted to check the interior of this church. There was an ongoing mass when I got inside, so I decided to sit in. Although it was in Italian, I understood that it was already the gospel part when the priest said, Matteo. It was just a sad sight, though, because there were only around ten mass-goers but outside was bustling with people.

I continued walking along Via del Corso up to Piazza del Popolo. At the corner, I entered the Museo Leonardo da Vinci which houses his recognized masterpieces that were reproduced.

The following day, I got up early and headed straight to St. Peter’s Square. The line was not that long, and in less than an hour, I got in.

Everyone, including the guided tours, was going directly to the Basilica. I saw an entrance sign leading to another door. Out of curiosity, I followed it and led me to the Cupola di San Pietro/St. Peter Basilica’s Dome. It’s not for the faint-hearted and physically unfit, like me lol. You have to climb 551 steps to get to the top and to make things more difficult, the last part is a steep and narrow staircase. There’s a lift you can take for an extra cost, but it’s only about mid-way, and you still need to climb 300+ steps.

I really thought I won’t be able to reach the top, but I did. Only a few visitors include this in their itinerary which is a blessing in disguise because it was one of the highlights of my trip to Rome.

The exit to Cupola leads to St. Peter’s Basilica. For a Catholic, it’s a dream come true to be visiting one of the holiest places. It’s overwhelming to see The Pieta in person. Sadly, a lot of tourists are treating this as a mere tourist spot and respect isn’t observed by everyone.

Carlo and his daughter, Cajia, were waiting outside. My visit to Italy won’t be complete if I won’t get my hands on gelato. Carlo suggested the Old Bridge Gelateria. With sticky hands, we moved on to the next destination.

While walking out of the Metro, my jaw literally dropped as the facade of this iconic architecture slowly comes to life. I’m talking about the Colosseo/Colosseum. While waiting in line, I took some selfie and Cajia started to get comfortable with me. She spoke in Italian, I froze lol. The sun was blazing but who cares? I need to enjoy every minute of this place.

We walked towards Piazza Venezia and took a bus to our next destination.

You might think Bocca della Verita/Mouth of Truth is an unassuming spot but don’t be deceived because a line is still waiting for you.

We took a break to have our lunch.

Our next stop is a magical place where you can make a wish – the Fontana di Trevi/Trevi Fountain. It was challenging to get your own spot because of the massive number of tourists around who would like to get their chance in throwing a coin and making a wish. I guess the best time to visit is early morning or at night.

Passing alley to alley, we reached Pantheon, a Roman temple turned into a church. Like the other spots I visited, tourists are rambunctious and must be reminded to lower down their voice. While looking intently at the Italian painter Raphael’s tomb, a loud voice came out of the speaker to sssshhhh the tourists. I was startled and literally jumped out from where I was standing.

Pushing past the tourists, we headed down to Piazza Navona. A square with three fountains and surrounded by bars.

Piazza Novena. Who’s happy?

It was an enjoyable day seeing all these sites. To end the day, I found myself sitting on a local bus and had an authentic Italian pasta for dinner with Carlo’s family.

Read related article: My Schengen Visa Application, Philippine Passport Holder from the UAE

I returned to my hostel with tired feet, full tummy, and a captivated heart. That day alone, I had 24,467 steps. I may have seen a lot of sites, but there were still lots I missed. Nonetheless, it was a jam-packed experience with a mixture of Ancient Roman, Baroque, and Renaissance architectures.

It was indeed fun roaming in Rome.

The following day, I went to Roma Termini to have my Eurail pass activated.

Roma Termini

While standing in line waiting for my turn, a family of tourists was being assisted by the staff. He was trying to explain something about very fast and making a hand gesture. They couldn’t understand the guy. I don’t usually intervene, but since I need my activation done quickly, I butt in saying, he means a high-speed train. That’s when they finally understood each other, and they smiled at me.

All aboard!!!

That feeling when you’re looking at the platform where you used to stand is gradually getting smaller as you move forward but you have a smile on your face.

Want to read another fun article? Check this out, Challenges of short girls on the road.

Read on where I headed next.

Leave a comment